Health care isn’t a human right, thank you for your time.
I hope you never lose your healthcare coverage in America and have an emergency cause wow. That is something I wouldn’t even wish on Trump.
I hope you open up your heart to those affected by the cruelty of America’s healthcare system, the strain it puts on people emotionally and physically when they can’t get the healthcare they need because people like you are putting profits over people.
Disgusting.
Health care is an individual right, not a human right. Do me a favor and look up how “well” Canada’s universal healthcare system works.
Ahh yes the “Well Canada’s system is broken!” Argument.
Canadian here to tell you that while our system is not perfect… at least I, a poor person, and not dead from a completely treatable illness, that kills only when left untreated and needs only a minor surgery to remove the offending appendix.
At least my father, a poor person, got an entire extra year and a half to spend with us because we didn’t have to PAY for the chemotherapy that kept him alive for that time.
At least my mother’s closest, poor friend, is alive, because she didn’t have to pay for the chemotherapy OR the double mastectomy, OR EVEN THE RECONSTRUCTION SURGERY that kept her alive.
At least my aunt, who is as poor as we are, was able to be placed in a center that can give her the care we simply can’t, so she didn’t have to live on the streets.
At least me, a poor person, HAS A FAMILY DOCTOR, along with millions of other poor people across the country.
Our system is not perfect, no, because that’s is a hard thing to create. But at least my country isn’t letting it’s poor citizens DIE of completely treatable conditions.
Yes, our wait times in hospital can be a long time sometimes, because we are not generally putting enough money towards healthcare. And yes, our medications can cost an arm and a leg when we get them at the pharmacy… but when the healthcare systems biggest complaint here is ‘medication costs a lot and should be covered too’ and ‘the wait times are kinda long unless you’re really, really sick, so maybe we need more hospitals and enough doctors and nurses to fill them’, I think we’re doing a lot better than a country who’s biggest complaint is ‘I’m going to die of a perfectly treatable condition, because I am poor’.
So, Canadian here to tell you that our system isn’t perfect. But it sure as shit is better then what you have. And it’s a piss poor argument to use against people people pointing out that the poor in your country are DYING from treatable ailments. You want an example of free health care that works well? Go look at France. They have what’s considered the BEST healthcare system in the world. And it looks more like ours than yours.
I recently had to go to the emergency room via ambulance while I was traveling because I got sick on the plane. I was given IV fluids and anti-nausea medication while in the ambulance because I could not physically drink any water to rehydrate myself without throwing it back up within minutes. I then had to spend the night in the ER while the doctor made sure I didn’t have food poisoning or a virus, of which I had neither and was discharged the next morning.
The bill for the ambulance ride, JUST the 10 minutes in the vehicle from the airport to the hospital, was OVER $3,500 USD. That does NOT include the actual examination, treatment, monitoring and diagnosis I received once I was at the hospital. If not for my insurance, it would have taken me two whole MONTHS WORTH of my entire paycheck to pay that off, and that is with a full time job working six days a week.
When you say “Healthcare is not a human right.” What you are really saying is “I don’t think poor people deserve to live.” Now sit back a moment and think about what has made you believe that YOU have the ‘individual right’ to say who deserves to live, and who deserves to die.